The bioscience academic and career pathway is a partnership between the city of New Haven and Southern Connecticut State University.

The Greater New Haven region is home to the second largest cluster of biotechnology companies in New England. The City of New Haven and Southern Connecticut State University are making a concerted effort to support this growing economic sector through academic pathways and workforce development.

BioPath helps sustain the Greater New Haven region as a leader in bioscience by delivering specialized education, applied research, and promotional events in order to generate a pipeline of highly-skilled, well-educated citizens and workers. The Bio-Path initiative aims to grow interest and participation in bioscience education by providing academic and experiential learning programs that position graduates for the 21st century workforce. Southern Connecticut State University was chosen as the lead academic institution on this initiative as a result of its longstanding commitment and support for STEM disciplines, strong connections with local high schools and regional community colleges, and prime geographic location near the heart of New Haven.

  • DNA diagram with services
  • DNA diagram with additional services

University Academic Pathways

  • B.S. in Biotechnology – The Biology Department in the College of Arts & Sciences developed a new major in Biotechnology with a minor in Chemistry.
  • Biochemistry Concentration within B.S in Chemistry – The Chemistry Department in the College of Arts & Sciences revised and updated the biochemistry concentration within the B.S. in Chemistry major to align with the professional needs of regional biotechnology industry employers.
  • Graduate Certificate Programs – The School of Business, in collaboration with the Schools of Arts & Sciences and College of Health & Human Services, is exploring the development of two (2) new graduate-level certificate programs to support the career advancement needs of current regional biotechnology employees.
  • Biotechnology Concentration – The College of Arts & Sciences is identifying four-to-five (4-5) courses within the B.S. in Biotechnology degree program to create unique concentrations for students in other STEM disciplines.